SFOAP > Regional Network > South Africa (SACAU)

South Africa

The Southern African Confederation of Agricultural Unions (SACAU) is a regional farmers’ organization representing the interests of farmers in southern Africa. It was originally formed in 1992 as a loose consultation platform for national FOs in southern Africa. Following the establishment of its secretariat in early 2004 and the adoption and implementation of its first strategy in 2006, the organization has recorded substantial growth. It currently has 16 members from 12 countries – Botswana, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Seychelles, South Africa, Swaziland, the United Republic of Tanzania, Zambia and Zimbabwe – representing a total of about 4.1 million members. Between 2004 and 2012, SACAU’s budget grew more than twelvefold, which has allowed a significant increase in operations.

The vision of SACAU is to bring about a vibrant, prosperous and sustainable farming sector that ensures food security and contributes to economic growth in Southern Africa. Its mission is to be the main voice of farmers and to promote and ensure strong and effective farmers’ and producers’ organizations in all countries in Southern Africa.

SACAU’s strategic framework (2014-2018) promotes three strategic goals: (i) promoting the creation of an enabling environment that allows farmers and other players in agricultural value chains to establish, maintain and maximize their productive potential; (ii) supporting the establishment and development of strong, credible and sustainable Farmers' Organizations that provide effective and efficient support services to farmers and other stakeholders; and (iii) supporting strategic decision-making by Farmers' Organizations and providing general information to other stakeholders.

SACAU is recognized as a key dialogue partner on agricultural matters by the two regional economic communities in Southern Africa: the Southern

African Development Community (SADC) and the Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA). SACAU is also part of the Food, Agriculture and Natural Resources Policy Analysis Network (FANRPAN) and collaborates with the African Union/New Partnership for Africa‘ s Development (NEPAD) Comprehensive Africa Agriculture Development Programme (CAADP). SACAU also works closely with the Alliance for Commodity Trade in Eastern and Southern Africa (ACTESA) and the African Union Commission.

The organization has successfully positioned itself, regionally and globally, as the main voice of Southern African farmers on regional, continental and global issues.

The table below shows SACAU's membership at the national level. The 7 national organisations directly covered by the SFOAP are highlighted in orange. 

National members of SACAU


Botswana Agricultural Union (BAU)


Lesotho National Agricultural Union (LENAFU)


Coalition of Farmers Organizations (CPM)


Confédération des Agriculteurs Malagasy (FEKRITAMA)


Farmers’ Union of Malawi


National Smallholder Farmers’ Association of Malawi (NASFAM)


Uniao Nacional de Componesses (UNAC)


Namibia National Farmers’ Union (NNFU)


Namibia Agricultural Union


Seychelles Farmers’ Association (SeyFA)


Agri-South Africa

South Africa

Swaziland National Agricultural Union (SNAU)


Agricultural Council of Tanzania (ACT)

United Rep. of Tanzania

Zambia National Farmers’ Union (ZNFU)


Zimbabwe Farmers’ Union (ZFU)


Commercial Farmers’ Union


Reference Documents

Reference Documents